CIN Members

In 2007, the CIN started with 25 principal investigators as cluster applicants, as stipulated in the DFG call for bids. When the CIN cluster was approved further  scientists from a range of institutions were incorporated, to make up the 48 'founding members' of the CIN. Since the beginning of 2014 the CIN has consisted of over 80 scientists in total. The membership process involves an application to the steering committee in which the candidate outlines his or her scientific profile and submits a list of publications. The committee's decision is based purely on the scientific excellence of each candidate.

CIN Members

Prof. Dr. Holger Lerche

Organization: Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research


Otfried-Müller-Str. 27
72076 Tübingen

Phone number: +49 (0)7071 29 80442

Department: Experimental Epileptology, Center for Neurology

Area: CIN Members

Field of Research

The research group of the Department of Neurology and Epileptology is interested to link the molecular mechanisms of defined, mainly genetic, neurological diseases with their clinical symptoms. The main goals are (i) to find out specific disease-causing genetic defects, (ii) understand their molecular and cellular pathomechanisms to ultimately (iii) improve existing or develop new therapies. The research is concentrated on diseases with disturbed neuronal excitability caused by mutations in ion channels, receptors or transporters. These have the advantage that we can examine their gating mechanisms in molecular detail using electrophysiological techniques such as patch clamping.